IaCMA Newsletter

Iowa City / County Management Association

IaCMA – April 2018

Leave a comment

Kim Downs and Angie Charipar receive “Women of Influence” awards from Corridor Business Journal

Kim Downs of Hiawatha and Angie Charipar of Cedar Rapids are among ten woman being recognized for their influence, leadership, and community involvement by the Corridor Business Journal.

Downs and Charipar will receive recognition at a special reception on April 12, 2018 in Cedar Rapids. The annual Women of Influence award is given to women who have made a difference in their profession and communities in the Corridor. Nominations are sought through a public process and honorees are selected by a panel of the previous year’s recipients. For more information: https://www.corridorbusiness.com/events/women-of-influence/

Downs has worked in the City of Hiawatha since 2005 and has been the city’s administrator since 2013.

Charipar has worked for the City of Cedar Rapids since 2009 and has been the city’s Assistant to the Manager since 2013. Angie was the IaCMA 2017 Emerging Leader of the Year recipient.

Congratulations Kim and Angie on your success.









Nominations are now open for the IaCMA Emerging Leader award and Program of the Year award.

The IaCMA’s Emerging Leader Award is presented to a local government and the chief administrator or assistant chief administrator in recognition of his/her innovate and successful programs.

To be considered for the Program of the Year Award, the local government’s chief administrator must be a full (voting) IaCMA member.  Each program nomination must be independent and cannot be a component of another program.  Eligible programs must be:

  • Administered under the authority of one or more governmental entities, with only limited outside assistance from experts/consultants
  • Currently be in operation and have been fully implemented within the last 3 years.
  • Must demonstrate tangible results

Submitting Your Nomination
Mail a copy of the descriptive narrative with the nomination form stapled on top to be received at the Iowa League of Cities by close of business on April 15.

Mail to:
Attention:  IaCMA Awards Committee
500 SW 7th Street, Suite 101
Des Moines, IA  50309-4111

Questions should be e-mailed to:  IaCMA’s Professional Awards Committee at: bhinson@washingtoniowa.gov.

Emerging Leader past recipients
2008 Jason Metten- Hawarden
2009 Luke Nelson- Boone
2010 Doug Boldt- Tipton
2011 Josh Heggen- Windsor Heights
2012 Larry Burks- Onawa
2013 Matt McQuillen- Clive
2014 Chelsea Huisman- Center Point
2015 Laura Graham- Des Moines
2016 Amanda Kaufman- Marion
2017 Angie Charipar- Cedar Rapids
Program of the Year past recipients
2008 Windsor Heights- Colby Park Playground
2009 Not awarded
2010 Windsor Heights- Takin it to the Streets
2011 Not awarded
2012 North Liberty- Paperless Packets
2013 Norwalk- City/School Partnership
2014 Newton’s Future Comprehensive Planning Process
2015 Newton- “Get to Know Newton” Community Outreach Project
2016 Not awarded
2017 Des Moines- Speak Up DSM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s