IaCMA Newsletter

Iowa City / County Management Association

IaCMA Newsletter – November 2016

Leave a comment

Fall Membership Updates

City of Boone hires Bill Skare for city administrator
Skare has served as the city of Boone’s public safety director for 27 years. The search for a new administrator began after Luke Nelson departed over the summer.

Jane Zahasky returns home and is named city administrator of Ogden.
Jane and her husband Larry moved back to Ogden this past summer and began her work for the city of Ogden in August. She is excited to be back and looks forward to promoting all that Ogden has to offer.

Mike Boyd has agreed to a mutual separation agreement with the city of Eagle Grove
Boyd worked for Eagle Grove for six years. The city is looking for an interim administrator and plans to search for a permanent replacement.

Sheldon hires new city manager in Sean Hutchison
Hutchison is coming from the City of Crockett, TX where he served for two years. Prior to that he served in the city of Combine Locks, WI for 7 years.

Corri Spiegel named as Davenport City Administrator
Spiegel came to Davenport in 2014 as the Assistant to the City Administrator, and served as the Interim City Administrator for more than a year before being appointed to the role of City Administrator. Corri is a member of ICMA, pursuing credentialed manager status, and IEDC where she earned the Certified Economic Developer designation in 2011.

Michel Pogge-Weaver new city manager in Carroll
Pogge-Weaver is from Benson, MN and served as county administrator for Swift County, MN. Pogge-Weaver was raised in Fort Dodge and has experience in community planning and development.

Webster City hires Daniel Ortiz-Hernandez as new city administrator
Ortiz-Hernandez comes to Webster City from Kimball, NE

Marshalltown hire Jessica Kinser as its next city administrator
Kinser will start in Marshalltown on November 14th and is excited to be closer to family.


Iowa Lean Consortium honors City of Fort Dodge Executive with Fifth Annual Lean Champion Award

DES MOINES, (October 12, 2016) –The Iowa Lean Consortium (ILC) has named David Fierke, City Manager for the City of Fort Dodge, as the 2016 Iowa Lean Champion. The award was created to honor a leader who has made significant contributions to Lean practices and/or led a Lean journey for 10 or more years. The award was presented at the ILC’s annual fall conference on October 12th.

Lean is a methodology focusing on the elimination of waste within a process to improve time, cost, and quality while providing customers exactly what they need.

David has been a strong Lean leader in government.  His belief in the transformative power of Lean is evident through his actions and we are pleased to honor his work and achievements,” Jeff Dahm, ILC board president and factory advisor at Deere & Company.

As the City Manager, David Fierke inherited a tough situation when he arrived in 2006. Like other Midwestern “blue collar” towns, Fort Dodge had endured the loss of major employers resulting in a declining population, downtown vacancies and aging infrastructure. Tax and fee receipts were not matching expenses with projections showing the gap widening. But David had a vision and a strategy for realizing that vision. He had done his homework on Lean, realizing that it was not simply a toolset but rather a means for transforming culture. And he understood that it started with him.

David is a member of the Fort Dodge Rotary. He is also the Past President of the Iowa City/County Management Association. “I’m both honored and humbled to be receiving this award,” said Fierke. In January, 2016 BusinessWire recognized Fort Dodge as one of the 15 semi-finalists in their America’s Best Communities $10M Competition.

The results are also evident in the top level metrics tracked as part of the Fort Dodge 2010 strategic plan which contained seven top level goals to be realized by 2015:

  • Reduce the crime rate by 8% (FBI Category 1 UCR); Actual reduction 11%
  • Increase sewer revenue by 20%; Actual increase 56%
  • Increase water revenue by 20%; Actual increase 90%
  • Increase hotel/motel tax by 20%; Actual increase 51%
  • Increase average wage by 15%; Actual increase 20%
  • Increase property tax base by 10%; Actual increase 11%

Fierke is the fifth Lean Champion to be recognized by the ILC. Recipients are selected based on multiple criteria including:

  • Leadership – Recognized leader in Lean and continuous improvement.
  • Sustainability – 10 years practicing in a leadership or change agent role.
  • Impact – Demonstrated and quantifiable business improvements.
  • Principle Based – Demonstrated key Lean principles of respect and continuous improvement.
  • Influential – Has been a role model and mentor to others.
  • Outreach – Leader in the community as well as in business.

To learn more about the Iowa Lean Consortium and past Lean Champion Award recipients, visit www.iowalean.org/about/ilc-awards.

Contact: Teresa Hay McMahon, Iowa Lean Consortium, 515-250-7078

About Iowa Lean Consortium
The ILC is a dynamic, member-driven non-profit organization dedicated to advancing Lean in all sectors of the economy.  It is a leading resource to Iowa companies who seek to improve their organizational effectiveness and efficiencies.  The ILC is for executives to front-line managers, and beginning to advanced practitioners.  In addition to manufacturing and consumer product companies, Lean is highly successful across all industries including healthcare, education, government, and service organizations.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s